NAAS Coimbatore Chapter ICAR-Sugarcane Breeding Institute

    The National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (NAAS), established in 1990, is among the youngest of the Science Academies in India. It owes its origin to the vision of the late Dr. B. P. Pal, FRS. The Academy focuses on the broad field of agricultural sciences including crop husbandry, animal husbandry, fisheries, agro-forestry and interface between agriculture and agro-industry. The Academy’s role is to provide a forum to Agricultural Scientists to deliberate on important issues of agricultural research, education and extension and present views of the scientific community as policy inputs to planners, decision/opinion makers at various levels. To achieve this, the Academy organizes and supports national and international congresses, conferences, seminars, symposia, workshops and brainstorming sessions on critical issues in the field of agricultural sciences. The Academy accords recognition to scientists at various levels, and encourages cutting edge research in different fields of agricultural sciences. In 2001, the Academy instituted a scheme of NAAS-TATA Research Fellowships for Young Scientists (with one for the North East Region) with support from the Sir Dorabji Tata Trust. In 2003, ‘Associateship’ of the Academy was introduced for Young Scientists.


The major objectives of the Academy, inter-alia, are to:

♥ Promote ecologically sustainable agriculture.

♥ Recognize and promote excellence of individual scientists in the field of agriculture.

♥ Promote interaction among research workers in different institutions and organizations within the country and with the world scientific community.

♥ Organize inter-disciplinary analysis of issues of importance to farmers and farming, and prepare further policies designed to advance agricultural research, education and development.

♥ Carry out such activities as are relevant to the accomplishment of the above goals.

Management bodies

♥ The General Body: The General Body of the Academy is constituted by its Fellows.


♥ The Executive Council is the main policy and decision making body.


♥ Statutory Committees have been constituted to deal with various aspects of governance of the Academy.


♥ Twelve Regional Chapters of the Academy are functioning at Bengaluru, Bhopal, Cuttack, Coimbatore, Hyderabad, Karnal, Kolkata, Lucknow, Ludhiana, Mumbai, Patna and Varanasi.


♥ During 2019, thirty four new Fellows including two Foreign Fellows and three Pravasi Fellows were elected. Thus total number of Fellows as on 1.1.2020 (in the live register) has become 698, which include 56 Foreign Fellows, 9 Pravasi Fellow and one Corporate Fellow.

Regional Chapter-Coimbatore

       The recommendations of the Committee on Reorganising the NAAS Regional Chapters were approved in the 104 Executive Council and the 25 AGM of the held on 4th and 5th June, 2018, respectively. In view of the reorganisation, there are now 12 NAAS Regional chapters including Coimbatore chapter which covers Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Lakshadweep.


     Current Coimbatore chapter has 36 distinguished Fellows in the field of Agriculture representing all the disciplines Crop Science (8), Horticulture (2), Animal Sciences (1), Fisheries (9), Natural Resource Management (4), Plant Protection (6), Agricultural Engineering and Technology (3) Social Sciences (3) (Directory of NAAS Fellows, Coimbatore Chapter).

Convener For NAAS Chapter at ICAR-SBI



ICAR-Sugarcane Breeding Institute,


Tamil Nadu

Mobile: 9994994715


Contact Address

Our Visitor Count


©2023. ICAR- SUGARCANE BREEDING INSTITUTE ,All Rights Reserved | Developed by AKMU, ICAR-SBI Coimbatore